Philip José Farmer: Grand Master 2001
Farmer received the Grand Master Award at the Nebula Award Banquet on Saturday April 28, 2001. The award was presented to him by Harlan Ellison.
The Grand Master Award is given to a living author for a lifetime's achievement in science fiction or fantasy or both. Nominations for the Grand Master Award are made by the president of SFWA and awarded after approval of a majority of the SFWA officers.

The Book of PJF

Grandmaster Philip José Farmer
Ellen Datlow (accepted for Linda Nagata) and
Philip José Farmer with the Awards
Photos © 2001 Keith Stokes

Philip José Farmer and Gary K. Wolfe at dinner
Philip José Farmer
Photos © 2001 Mark R. Kelly

More information and photos of the Nebula Award weekend and 
Phil Farmer can be read and seen on the following sites:
MidAmerican Fan Photo Archive
pages 5, 6, 7 and 8
Locus Online
Locus Online
SF Site.com

See the following magazines

cover art: George Barr
The Bulletin No. 150, Summer 2001
(Annual Nebula Awards Issue)
PJF, Grand Master 2001:
- A profile by Harlan Ellison
- A piece by Gary K. Wolfe
- An interview by Darrell Schweitzer
Locus, Issue 485, June 2001
2001 Nebula Awards Weekend
- A report by Charles N. Brown
- A report by Gary K. Wolfe
- Many photos, some of Farmer

See also this book

cover art: Ray Lundgren
Nebula Awards Showcase 2002,
edited by Kim Stanley Robinson
Roc, trade paperback, 4/2002
- "An Appreciation" by Rovert Silverberg
- "Acceptance Speech" by Philip Farmer

Living Legend Reception for Philip José Farmer
This reception was given on May 19, 2001 in honor of Farmer winning the
Grand Master Award. It was organized by the Peoria Public Library, together
with Michael Croteau, the webmaster of The Official PJF Home Page.
On his site you can find a report of the Living Legend Reception.
Michael also made a booklet about this reception, see here.

The original announcement from SFWA President Paul Levinson reads as follows:

"I'm delighted to announce that our new Grand Master for 2001 is Philip José
Farmer. Beginning with his publication of "The Lovers" in the August 1952 issue
of Startling Stories, Philip José Farmer has pioneered the exploration of crucial
human relationships and dimensions in science fiction, and inspired 
generations of writers from Chip Delany to Jonathan Lethem.
This highest honor of SFWA is voted upon by all former Presidents and current 
members of the Board of Directors. Previous SFWA Grand Masters include 
Robert A. Heinlein, Jack Williamson, Clifford D. Simak, L. Sprague de Camp, 
Fritz Leiber, Andre Norton, Arthur C. Clarke, Isaac Asimov, Alfred Bester, 
Ray Bradbury, Lester del Rey, Frederik Pohl, Damon Knight, A. E. van Vogt, 
Jack Vance, Poul Anderson, Hal Clement, and Brian Aldiss."

For the other awards PJF received see the page Biography.

© Zacharias L.A. Nuninga -- Page last updated: 12 Jul 2012